Arkansas Republican Women’s Leader Named National Award Finalist

Arkansas Republican Women’s Leader Named National Award Finalist

She's one of five finalists for the prestigious Ronald Reagan Leadership Award.
LITTLE ROCK, AR (News Release) - The Republican Party of Arkansas announced today that Julie Harris, Washington County native and outgoing President of the Arkansas Federation of Republican Women (AFRW), has been nominated as one of five finalists for the prestigious Ronald Reagan Leadership Award given biennially by the National Federation of Republican Women (NFRW).

The award was created by the NFRW to honor the legacy of President Ronald Reagan. The finalists were chosen based on overall leadership and initiative of new programs, increases in membership, participation in national programs, and excellence in public relations and campaign efforts.

Megan Tollett, the Executive Director of the Arkansas GOP, said that Harris deserves recognition for successfully guiding the efforts of Arkansas’ Republican women’s coalition: “Republican women like Julie Harris are at the forefront of turning Arkansas into a solidly Red State. During the 2012 election Julie and her network of Republican women, through thousands of hours of volunteering, were instrumental in helping elect Republicans all across the state, leading us to majorities in the state legislature.”

Arkansas GOP Chairman Doyle Webb praised the selection of Harris as a finalist for the national award: “We are pleased to see Julie Harris receive the recognition she deserves for her tireless devotion to helping grow the Republican Party and introduce it to a new generation of female voters. Julie’s leadership has helped grow the AFRW into a dynamic political organization that has had a major impact on Arkansas politics in recent years.”

Harris has a long history of service to the local and state Republican Party. She served as Treasurer of the Washington County Republican Women from 2004-2005 and as the organization’s President from 2006-2009. From 2008-2009, she was the 3rd District Committeewoman from Washington County, and from 2009-2010, she was Treasurer of the AFRW before being elected as President in 2010.

She has also been heavily involved in the NFRW since her election as President of the AFRW. Since 2012, she has served on the NFRW legislative committee.

The winner of the award will be announced on Sunday, September 22nd at the NFRW convention.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus