Major Disaster Declaration for Faulkner County Approved by President Obama

LITTLE ROCK, AR (News release) - President Barack Obama today approved a Major Disaster Declaration for Faulkner County, less than 24 hours after Governor Mike Beebe made his request to Federal Emergency Management Agency officials. This will allow tornado victims in Mayflower, Vilonia, and other areas of Faulkner County to apply for individual assistance as they recover from the storm.

Affected residents can call FEMA at 1-800-621-3362 to begin the application process. Eligible communities will also receive public assistance to help cover response costs and to rebuild infrastructure.

Additional federal declarations may be requested as damage assessments take place. Governor Beebe will tour damaged areas in Western Pulaski County Tuesday afternoon starting between 12:30 and 1:00, beginning at the intersection of Kanis Road and Ferndale Cutoff Road.

The Arkansas Department of Emergency Management is working with FEMA to set up Disaster Response Centers in Faulkner County. They will release details about those centers when they are established.

More Stories

Don't Miss

Latest News