10 A-State Football Walk-Ons Receive Scholarships

Published 08/15 2014 08:18PM

Updated 08/15 2014 08:45PM

JONESBORO, AR (News Release)– Arkansas State head football coach Blake Anderson announced Friday that 10 former walk-ons to the Red Wolves football team have been awarded full athletics scholarships.
While some of the 10 student-athletes have been placed on scholarship in the past, they have all been a walk-on member of the team at some point during their careers.  All 10 players were members of the 2011 and 2012 Sun Belt Conference championship teams that went on to win the GoDaddy Bowl, while six have been a part of A-State’s three consecutive league titles from 2011-13.
The former walk-ons to earn a scholarship this year are senior defensive back Brock Barnhill (Mountain Home, Ark.), junior offensive lineman Travis Bodenstein (Springdale, Ark.), senior wide receiver William Boyd (Cave City, Ark.), senior linebacker Darius Buckley (Memphis, Tenn.), sophomore deep snapper Ryan Eustace (Powder Springs, Ga.), junior defensive back Charleston Girley (Pine Bluff, Ark.), senior defensive back Ryan Jacobs (Evans, Ga.), sophomore wide receiver Booker Mays (Pine Bluff, Ark.), junior defensive back TeDarius Turner (Memphis, Tenn.) and junior defensive back Raziel Velgis (El Paso, Texas).

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.