Razorbacks Play Vanderbilt Tonight in Round 1 of SEC Tournament

Razorbacks Play Vanderbilt Tonight in Round 1 of SEC Tournament

Tip-off is at 6:30 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee.
NASHVILLE, TN - The University of Arkansas basketball team opens play at the Southeastern Conference Tournament tonight.

The Razorbacks take the court at 6:30 against the Vanderbilt Commodores at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tennessee.

Arkansas (19-12, 10-8 SEC) earned the No. 7 seed in the tournament this season when it picked up its 10th conference victory of the season, the most by a Razorback club since the 2005-06 season. Since that last game junior Marshawn Powell and sophomore BJ Young have both earned second-team All-SEC honors by the league’s coaches as well as All-District honors by the United States Basketball Writers Association.

Vanderbilt (14-16, 8-10 SEC) picked up an all-important eighth win in its regular season finale against South Carolina to avoid playing in Wednesday’s action. The Commodores have an edge in this week’s tournament as it is being played in their home town, but the neutral site should help squads even the odds against the Commodores.

Thursday night’s matchup between Arkansas and Vanderbilt is the third game between the two programs this season, with each squad winning on its home court. The Razorbacks blistered the Commodores, 56-33, in Fayetteville in early January before dropping a 67-49 decision to Vanderbilt a month later. Thursday’s match is just the ninth time that the Razorbacks have played a member of the SEC three times in the same season.

Arkansas leads the all-time series with Vanderbilt, 18-10, and the Razorbacks are a perfect 3-0 against the Commodores at the SEC Tournament.

The Razorback game against Vanderbilt will be broadcast on the radio across the Razorback Sports Network from IMG College with Chuck Barrett and Rick Schaeffer giving the call. The game will also be carried live on the SEC Network with Dave Neal, Jon Sundvold and Shannon Spake on air.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus