Touchdown Club announces lineup

Touchdown Club announces lineup

The Little Rock Touchdown Club announced is 2012 guest speakers list. Among the speakers are John L. Smith, Gus Malzahn, and Mike Slive.
LITTLE ROCK, AR – The Little Rock Touchdown Club announced is 2012 guest speakers list. Among the speakers are John L. Smith, Gus Malzahn, and Mike Slive.

August 20th – Mark May (ESPN)

Mark May is an ESPN College Football Analyst teaming with Lou Holtz for the popular
College Football Scoreboard program. Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2005, May was a 1st Team All-American and Outland Trophy Winner at Pittsburgh and a 1st round draft choice of the Washington Redskins, winning two Super Bowls.

August 27th – Coach John Robinson (USC, LA Rams)

John Robinson is a former USC Trojan and Los Angeles Rams head coach. He lead USC to four Rose Bowl wins, a national championship and two final season #2 rankings and took the Rams to two NFC Championship games and drafted Eric Dickerson as the #1 player in the NFL draft. His UNLV team defeated the Razorbacks 31-14 in the 2000 Las Vegas Bowl then lost the 2001 season opener against the Hogs at War Memorial Stadium with 18 seconds remaining in the game. Robinson was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2009.

September 4th – Coach Howard Schnellenberger (Miami)

Former University of Miami head coach Howard Schnellenberger is responsible for laying the groundwork for the most dominant college football program
of the 1980s. Schnellenberger led the Hurricanes to a National Championship behind QB Bernie Kosar in 1983. Played and coached under Bear Bryant, Schnellenberger was also credited with recruiting Joe Namath to play at Alabama. In addition, he served as the offensive coordinator under Don Shula and the Miami Dolphins during their undefeated 1972 season.

September 10th – Matt Jones ( Arkansas, Jacksonville Jaguars)

Matt Jones is one of the most exciting players in Razorback history winning two
7-overtime games, including a victory as a freshman QB over Ole Miss and future
NFL Super Bowl MVP Eli Manning. In addition, Jones had a 60 yard run and 100 total yards rushing in a 38-28 upset of #6 Texas in 2003. At 6’6, 237 pounds and 4.3 speed, the
Jacksonville Jaguars selected Jones as the 20th overall pick in the first round of the 2005 draft.

September 24th – Coach John L. Smith (Head Coach - Arkansas)

John L. Smith is the current Razorback head coach, hired in the wake of Bobby Petrino’s firing this past spring. With a career coaching record of 132-86 (.606), Smith has had previous head coaching stops at Idaho, Utah State, Louisville and Michigan State. He began his coaching career as a grad assistant at Weber State in 1971 and was an assistant 17 years before taking his first top post in 1989 at Idaho. Smith was named Big 10 Coach of the Year following his first season at Michigan State in 2003.

October 1st – Willie Roaf (NFL Hall of Fame Lineman)

Willie Roaf is the newest member of the NFL Hall of Fame, inducted on August 4th.
A Pine Bluff native that was at first offered only one college scholarship out of Pine
Bluff High School, he became an All-American at Louisiana Tech and a first round draft choice of the New Orleans Saints in 1993. Roaf’s Hall of Fame career with the Saints and Chiefs included 11 selections to the Pro Bowl and placement on the NFL All-Decade Team for both the 1990s and 2000s.

October 8th – Paul Finebaum (Sports Journalist)

Polarizing sports author, columnist, television and radio personality Paul Finebaum is based out of Birmingham, Alabama with a primary focus on SEC sports. Finebaum is considered one of the most powerful media personalities in the South. He currently serves as the host of the Paul Finebaum Radio Network that is
heard on more than 30 stations across Alabama, Mississippi, Tennessee,
Arkansas, Florida, South Carolina and Georgia, as well as nationally on Sirius XM Radio.

October 15th – Jeff Long (Athletic Director—Arkansas)

Jeff Long has been the University of Arkansas Vice Chancellor and Athletic Director since 2008. Long received national attention and acclaim for his handling of the Bobby Petrino firing this past spring. A veteran administrator with more than two decades experience at the division one level, he replaced legendary Arkansas head coach and athletic director Frank Broyles.

October 22nd – Mike Slive (SEC Commissioner)

Mike Slive has been the Current commissioner of the SEC since 2002. The SEC is considered the premier football conference in the country and Slive has overseen six straight national champions in football and billions of dollars in TV agreements for the conference. This will be his second appearance in Little Rock, the last being in 2007.

October 29th –Mark Henry (All SWC Lineman - Arkansas)

Mark Henry is a two-time all SWC offensive lineman for the Razorbacks under Ken Hatfield, leading the Hogs to two consecutive SWC Championships and Cotton Bowls in 1988 and 1989. Henry was a standout lineman at Central High School and his son, Hunter, is currently one of the top-rated high school tight ends in the country, verbally committing to Arkansas this past July. Mark is a pastor on the staff of Fellowship Bible Church in Little Rock.

November 5th – Clint Conque (Head Coach, UCA)

University of Central Arkansas’ head coach, Clint Conque, is now in his 13th year with the Bears. He is the most winning coach in the 100-plus year history of UCA football. In 2012, Conque guided UCA to the playoffs as one of the top programs in the FCS division losing in the second round to Montana. The Bears open the 2012 season against Ole Miss.

November 12th – Tom Lemming (National High School Recruiting Expert)

Tom Lemming is a national recruiting expert and host of the “Lemming Report” on CBS
Sports Network. Lemming travels 50,000 miles per year evaluating the top high school talent in America. He publishes the Tom Lemming Prep Football Report, considered by many to be the “bible” of college football recruiting. Michael Lewis, author of the Blind Side: Evolution of a Game recognized Lemming as the only true national high school football scout in America. Lemming even had a small role as himself in the movie The Blind Side.

November 19th – Gus Malzahn (Head Coach, Arkansas State)

New Arkansas State head coach, Gus Malzahn, is coming off a successful
career as an offensive coordinator at Arkansas, Tulsa and Auburn where he won
the Broyles Award given to the top assistant coach in college football. He coached such
notable college players as Cam Newton, Darren McFadden and Felix Jones.
Malzahn is one of the top high school coaches in Arkansas history.
Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus