Disaster Declaration for 15 AR Counties after Winter Storm

Governor Mike Beebe sends request to the White House.
LITTLE ROCK, AR (News release) - Governor Mike Beebe sent a letter to President Barack Obama today requesting a major disaster declaration for 15 Arkansas counties impacted by ice and snow damage caused by the winter storm that began on Dec. 5.  

Those counties include Crawford, Franklin, Independence, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Newton, Polk, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sharp, and Van Buren. 

The declaration would make Arkansas eligible to receive federal aid to help the State, cities and counties recover from infrastructure damage. State and federal damage assessments totaled more than $8.6 million.

One death was attributed to the storm, and about 62,000 electrical customers lost power statewide. 

Page: [[$index + 1]]
comments powered by Disqus

Weather Right Now

Partly Cloudy
High: 87°F
Low: 74°F

7 day forecast