Past Nobel Peace Prize winners


The 2017 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded Friday to the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons for its "work to draw attention to the catastrophic humanitarian consequences of any use of nuclear weapons and for its ground-breaking efforts to achieve a treaty-based prohibition of such weapons."

Alfred Nobel is the Swedish chemist, engineer and inventor (of dynamite) who established the Nobel Prizes. He was interested in social issues and engaged in the peace movement. Nobel listed in his will that he wished for the bulk of his estate to go toward establishing the Nobel Prizes.

Take a look at past winners of the Nobel Peace Prize as well as the reason the award was given, as provided by

The 2016 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Colombia President Juan Manuel Santos "for his resolute efforts to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end."

The 2015 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet for its "decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy in the country in the wake of the Jasmine Revolution of 2011." Pictured here are the members of the quartet, Abdessattar Ben Moussa, Wided Bouchamaoui, Mohamed Fadhel Mahfoudh and Houcine Abbassi, during Nobel Peace Prize concert in 2015.

The 2014 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to Pakistan's Malala Yousafzai and India's Kailash Satyarthi for their struggles against the suppression of children and for young people's rights, including the right to education.

(Eskinder Debebe/United Nations/CNN)

2013: The Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons. OPCW was honored "for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons."

The 2012 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to European Union "for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe." (Wes Little/CNN)

2011: Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman. The award was given jointly to the three women "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights to full participation in peace-building work."

(UN Photo/Marco Castro, CNN, UN Photo/Eskinder Debebe)

2010: Liu Xiaobo. The professor and human right activist was given the award "for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China."

2009: President Barack H. Obama. The president earned the honor "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples."

(Scott Olson/Getty Images)

2008: Martti Ahtisaari. The former President of Finland and UN diplomat was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize "for his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts."

(Chung Sung-Jun/Getty Images)

2007: Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and Al Gore Jr. The Nobel Peace Prize was awarded jointly to Gore and the IPCC "for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change."

(Chris Jackson/Getty Images)

2006: Muhammad Yunus and Grameen Bank. The lauded economist and the bank were awarded the prize jointly "for their efforts to create economic and social development from below."

(Carsten Koall/Getty Images)

2005: International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and Mohamed ElBaradei. The agency and ElBaradei were jointly given the award "for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way."

(Getty Images)

2004: Wangari Muta Maathai. Kenyan Wangari Maathai was awarded the prize "for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace."

(Charley Gallay/Getty Images for NAACP)

2003: Shirin Ebadi. Ebadi was the first Muslim woman to win a Peace Prize "for her efforts for democracy and human rights. She has focused especially on the struggle for the rights of women and children."

(Johannes Simon/Getty Images)

For a full list of Nobel Peace Prize laureates, visit