AR Officials Look to Expand Obama’s Disaster Declaration

Severe Storms_-6607328241583043654
LITTLE ROCK, AR (News release) – Arkansas submitted a request to the Federal Emergency Management Agency Friday afternoon to add nine counties to the Public Assistance Program established by President Obama’s major disaster declaration of April 29.

If added, local governments in Clay, Cleburne, Fulton, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Randolph, Sharp and White counties can apply for federal funds to help cover the costs of disaster response and infrastructure repairs. Governor Beebe has now issued State declarations for all these counties as well.

Damage assessments in these counties found public infrastructure damage and debris-removal costs totaling $14 million. That total does not include damage and destruction of private property. Sixteen people died in the storms, and another 153 were injured.

Assistance for individual storm victims in Faulkner, Pulaski, Randolph and White Counties is still available, as well. Affected residents can call FEMA at 1-800-621-3362 or visit a Disaster Response Center in their community.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories