National Guard awards Airmen and Soldiers

CAMP ROBINSON, AR – The Arkansas National Guard announced the outstanding Airmen and Soldiers for 2012 at an awards ceremony this weekend, including the tops in the Army Guard’s Best Warrior competition.

Sgt. Matthew Howard of the 142nd Fires Brigade earned the title the best Noncommissioned Officer (E5 and above) for the year, and Spc. Joshua Glass of the 39th Infantry Brigade Combat Team took Soldier (E4 and below) of the Year honors.

Howard and Glass topped a field of four NCOs and three Soldiers during a week-long series of very tough events that included physical strength, shooting, navigating, warrior skills, combat lifesaving, water survival, hand-to-hand combat and facing a board of Command Sergeants Major.

Each major command in the Arkansas Army National Guard names one Soldier and one NCO to represent them in the competition. The two winners move on to regional competition in May. The regional winners compete at the National Guard Bureau level, with the NGB Soldier and NCO of the Year competing for the active Army crown in October.

Each competitor was awarded an Army Achievement Medal along with gift certificates from the Arkansas National Guard Morale Welfare and Recreation fund. Howard and Glass were each awarded the Arkansas Distinguished Service Medal.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories