Pool of 50+ People Vying to be LR’s Next Chief of Police


LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – Applications are now closed and fifty-six people across the country are vying to be Little Rock’s next Police Chief. 

City officials said in November the hiring process can take as long as 90 days. 

Documents and applications we have obtained through a Freedom of Information request show that applications were submitted from 21 different states including: Arkansas, Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. 

Eight applications came from Little Rock and five were submitted from various parts of Arkansas. 

According to the 56 applications we obtained, the group of applicants come with a wide variety of work experience. 

See the full list of applicants below: 

Charles Brackett – Columbia, LA
A Patrol Lieutenant with the Caldwell Parish Sheriff’s Office

Travis Brown – Nashville, TN
Professional Security Officer with Allied Universal 

Charles Carafano – Damascus, MY
Director at Montgomery County Police Department

Todd Chamberlain – Simi Valley, CA
Adjunct Professor teaching Criminal Justice at California State University in Los Angeles. He has 33 years experience at the Los Angeles Police Department. 

Angela DeSarro – Florence, OR
Worked 15 years as a Police Lieutenant with La Mesa Police Department.

Chadwick Henson – Trumann, AR
Chief of Police with Trumann Police Department

Keith Humphrey – Norman, OK
Chief of Police at Norman Police Department

Ernest Harris – Pulaski County, AR
Previously worked at Pulaski County Sheriff’s Office as a Sergeant Professional Standards/Warrants Officer

Michael Kreher – Newnan, GA
Police Deputy Chief at Atlanta Police Department

Brian Marr – Little Rock, AR
Chief of Security, Compliance and Integrity with Department of Human Services. He is also retired from the U.S. Secret Service.

Matthew Murray – Westminster, CO
Deputy Chief of Police at Denver Police Department

James O’Grady – Barrington, IL
Illinois State Police Chief

Brian Paulsen – Crofton, NE
Chief of Police at Yankton Police Department

Donald Pezzuto – New Lenox, IL
Court Security Deputy at Will County Sheriff’s Office

James Rhoden – Stewartstown, PA
Major/Deputy Inspector General at Baltimore Police Department 

Kathryn Rowell – Fort Worth, TX
Captain with Fort Worth Police Department

Kenneth Shackelford – Union, MS
Senior Patrol Officer with Philadelphia Police Dept. 

Michael Shamoon – Fairfield Bay, AR
Unit Training Supervisor with Arkansas Department of Correction

Leo Smith III – Little Rock, AR
Probation Officer with City of Little Rock Traffic Court

Steven Taylor – Searcy, AR
Assistant Police Chief with Searcy Police Department 

Gregory Volker – Kansas City, MO
Major with Kansas City Missouri Police Department 

Kedzie White – Memphis, TN
Lt. Colonel with City of Memphis Police Department

Samuel Wyatt – Geismar, LA
Director of Internal Audit (Investigations) with Louisiana State University

Aaron Tyksinski – Katy, TX
Adjunct Lecturer with the Criminal Justice Department with the University of Houston

David Hare – Antioch, IL
Adjunct Instructor at Northwestern University Center for Public Safety

Andre Anderson – Peoria, AZ
Special Operations Division Commander with City of Glendale Police Department

Chad Baugh – Canton, MI
Deputy Director with Canton Police Department

Cedric Davis – Balch Springs, TX
Law Enforcement Criminal Justice Advisor with Garland ISD. Magnet Program for Lakeview Centennial H.S. 

Joseph Edwards – Columbia, IL
Deputy Director of Public Safety at Missouri Baptist University

Steven McCarver – Wentzville, MO
Federal Chief of Police at Office of Security and Law Enforcement with US Dept. of VA Police. 

John Pate – Chicago, IL
Director of Public Safety for the Village of University Park

Richard Scott – Fort Worth, TX
Assistant Chief of Police with City of North Richland Hills

Danny Williams – Glenn Heights, TX
Patrol Division Commander Major of Police with Dallas Police Department

Garrik Haynes – Kansas City, MO
Operations Sergeant with Kansas City Missouri Police Department

Charles Jackson – Jefferson City, MO
Captain with Missouri State Highway Patrol

Robert Jones – Carrolton, GA
Warden with Carroll County Correctional Institution

Brian Peete – Alamogordo, NM
Chief of Police with City of Alamongordo

Edward Reynolds – Bossier City, LA
Director of Ministers/Director of Evangelism with Church of God in Christ Inc. 
Chief of Police with Southern University at Shreveport Police Department

Terence Calloway – Havana, FL
Asst. VP of Safety and Parking Services/Chief of Police at Florida A&M University

Michael Yates – Griffen, GA
Chief of Police with City of Griffen 

Michael Zerbonia – Chatham, IL
Asst. Adjunct General – Army (Commander of the Illinois Army National Guard, with the rank of Major General) for the Illinois Department of Military Affairs. He is also a retired Illinois State Trooper. 

Eddie Bass – Memphis, TN
Lt. Col. (Assistant Commander, North Main Station Precinct) Memphis Police Department

Scott Brunner – Arlington, VA
Deputy Assistant Director with the Federal Bureau of Investigations

Brian Carney – Ocala, FL
Chief of Police with City of Americus Police Department

Eric Carter – Chicago, IL
Deputy Chief with Chicago Police Department

Keith Eremea – Little Rock, AR
State Police Captain/Commander with Troop A 

Hayward Finks – Little Rock AR 
Asst. Chief of Police with Little Rock Police Department

Jeffrey Fitzpatrick – Hot Springs, AR
Chief Deputy with Saline County Sheriff’s Office

Alice Fulk – Little Rock, AR 
Asst. Chief of Police with Little Rock Police Department

Orrin Gallop – Hampton, VA
Asst. Chief/Commander Investigative Services with Hampton Police Division

Yuseff Hamm – Baldwin, NY
Detective 2nd Grad at New York City Police Department

Derrick Jackson – Maumelle, AR
Detective Criminal Investigations with Maumelle Police Department 

Mark Morgan – Stafford, VA
Chief of U.S. Border Patrol at Customs and Border Protection

Earl Morrison – Snyder, TX
Chief of Police at Snyder Police Department

Brad Richison – Little Rock, AR 
Program Supervisor with Department of Workforce Services

Ethan Williams – Little Rock, AR
Patrolman with Little Rock Police Department 

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories