Feleipe Franks Named Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of Year Semifinalist

Local Sports

Photo Courtesy: University of Arkansas Athletics

FAYETTEVILLE — Arkansas redshirt senior QB Feleipe Franks has been named one of 14 semifinalists for the Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award, as announced by the College Sports Information Directors of America in conjunction with The Associated Press and Fiesta Bowl Organization.

Sam Pittman is pleased with how Franks has played this season. Franks was injured against LSU and missed the Missouri game.

“Well, he’s healthy, so he’s ready to play,” Pittman said. “I’m really proud of him. I think there will be an announcement in a day or two about something else that he was awarded. I’m really proud of him and what he’s done. To come over here and believe in us and choose us, and do what he’s done as a captain, just a really great year for him, our team, and for my future, that I was able to meet a guy like him.”

Franks transferred to Arkansas from Florida as a grad transfer. This season in nine games, Franks has completed 163 of 238 passes for 2,107 yards, 17 touchdowns and only four interceptions. He has also rushed 105 times for 204 yards and a touchdown.

In the third game of the 2019 season versus Kentucky, while playing for Florida, Franks suffered a dislocated ankle that contained a fracture. He missed the remainder of the 2019 season and began a six-to-nine-month recovery. He transferred to Arkansas, won the starting job, and guided the Razorbacks to their most SEC wins since 2016.

Franks and offensive lineman Myron Cunningham have been selected to play in the East-West Shrine game as well.

Mayo Clinic Comeback Player of the Year Award Semi-Finalists
Jarek Broussard, Sophomore, RB, Colorado
Evan Finegan, Junior, P, Buffalo
Feleipe Franks, Redshirt Senior, QB, Arkansas
Jake Funk, Senior, RB, Maryland
Daelin Hayes, Senior, DE, Notre Dame
Collin Hill, Senior, QB, South Carolina
Kenneth Horsey, Sophomore, OL, Kentucky
Silas Kelly, Senior, LB, Coastal Carolina
Eric Kendzior, Redshirt Senior, DL, Louisiana Tech
Dylan Moses, Senior, LB, Alabama
Kyle Pugh, Senior, LB, Northern Illinois
Tylan Wallace, Senior, WR, Oklahoma State
Rashad Weaver, Senior, DL, Pittsburgh
James Wiggins, Senior, S, Cincinnati

The three winners will be selected by a vote of Associated Press college football writers and announced on January 2, 2021 in conjunction with the PlayStation® Fiesta Bowl.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

More Don't Miss

Trending Stories