2019 Session: Arkansas House passes push for permanent daylight saving time



LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – The Arkansas House passed a resolution Tuesday that would make daylight saving time permanent in the Natural State.

The chamber unanimously approved the measure on a voice vote.

Federal law currently allows states to opt out of springing forward from March to November every year, but it prohibits states from making daylight saving time permanent.

Congress would have to amend the law to allow the change. A proposal to do so was reintroduced last week. 

Arizona and Hawaii operate under standard time year-round.

Original story:

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – While many Arkansans were feeling groggy from the time change Monday, a House committee approved a resolution that would make daylight saving time permanent in the Natural State.

HR 1034, sponsored by St. Rep. Sarah Capp, R-Ozark, requests the federal government to allow states the ability to spring forward and maintain that time permanently. 

The resolution would require Arkansas to get the support from its six border states before making its case in Washington.

President Trump tweeted his support Monday.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories