Winter Storm with Heavy Snow Threat Moves into Arkansas

Lafayette County freezing rain and sleet on Feb. 25._5274978153131688107
LITTLE ROCK, AR – The anticipated Wednesday snowstorm has arrived in Arkansas.

The southern half of the state felt the impact first around 7 a.m. as sleet, freezing rain and snow pushed into the region.

The National Weather Service has issued a Winter Storm Warning in effect until 6 p.m. Wednesday for an area south of a line from Murfreesboro to Pine Bluff to Stuttgart.

Counties in the warning area include: Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Prairie and Sevier counties.

The system is expected to spread further north and east throughout the day and taper off from west to east during the late afternoon and through the evening hours on Wednesday.

Snowfall accumulations of 3 to 5 inches are possible in the counties above with locally heavier amounts. There will likely be a band of heavier snowfall somewhere in the area. Also, snowfall will be heavy at times with an inch possible in a short period of time.

Meanwhile, a Winter Storm Advisory is in effect until 6 p.m. Wednesday for an area stretching from Conway to Searcy to Augusta.

The advisory area includes these counties: Faulkner, Garland, Montgomery, Polk, Pulaski, Saline, White and Woodruff counties.

An inch or two of snow will be possible in the advisory area with an inch falling in only a short period of time.

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories